City Government

Founded in 1849 and incorporated in 1850, the City of Stockton is one of the oldest incorporated cities in California.  In 1922, Stockton city voters approved a City Charter (municipal constitution) with a City Council-Manager form of government, which is still being used today.  A link to the current City Charter is available under External Links at the bottom of this webpage.

The City Council consists of a Mayor, elected by all City voters, and six Councilmembers, elected to represent separate districts in the City.  The Mayor may live anywhere within the city limits of Stockton, and each Councilmember is required to live in the district they represent.  The Mayor and Councilmembers serve four-year terms.  Additional information is available on the City Clerk Elections webpage.

The Council establishes city policies, ordinances, contracts and agreements; approves the City's annual budget; and appoints four positions: City Manager, City Attorney, City Auditor and City Clerk.  Councilmembers serve on several working committees.  The Mayor is full-time, receives a salary and benefits, and Councilmembers are part-time and receive a salary.

The City Council holds public meetings on Tuesday evenings, twice a month, in the City Council Chambers at City Hall.  The Council also holds special meetings and committee meetings, which are open to the public.  Agendas for City Council and Council Committee meetings are available online, in the City Clerk's Office, and posted outside of City Hall.  The Mayor and City Council Offices are located in City Hall.


County Government

The City of Stockton is located in and is the county seat of San Joaquin County.  For information about San Joaquin County, please see the San Joaquin County web site listed under External Links below.


External Links

City of Stockton City Charter

San Joaquin County

This City of Stockton web page last reviewed on --- 5/6/2015